Sun was showing its warm light. Chicken started singing. I opened my eyes and found myself in my red sleeping bag, contradicted with color of the room which made from rattan.

“Hoooammmhhh….” I yawn and felt really excited to start the day because I was in Baduy village.

Baduy House

Baduy House



Totally, there are 64 villages in Baduy. Three of them are included as a “Baduy Dalam” (Inner Baduy). And the rest 61 are “Baduy Luar” (Outer Baduy). Main difference between Baduy Dalam and Luar is that Baduy Dalam still keeps their strong tradition. While Baduy Luar doesn’t forbid some rules which are not allowed in Baduy Dalam. Yes, there are some rules to keep its culture existed and not affected by modern world.

That night, I stayed in Gajeboh village, with 4 of my friends. In that room I could see a poster of Derby Romero (Indonesian artists), it was showing that I was in one of Baduy Luar village. I heard some people had already started doing their activities outside. I sat. Took a pause for 2 and 3 seconds. Took my toothpaste and toothbrush. Walked outside the house. Breathed the clear air. Hmmmm…. Thing that hard to do in Jakarta.

Gajeboh Village

Gajeboh Village

My eyes was soon getting adapted with light. I saw some girls and women walking. They were going to river which is located about 10m in front of the house. They were using Baduy’s batik or sarung, bringing a bucket filled with toiletries. I followed their way. I should be careful with the stone path because it’s slippery, and then I arrived at river. I could see that they were bathing in the river. Fully naked. And they don’t feel ashamed at all. If I’m a man, I should be very grateful watching that. :p

It’s quite a busy morning in Gajeboh village that day. They had 2 events coming. They were going to have married celebration for couple from Belimbing village (neighbor of Gajeboh) in 2 days. Another event was that they were going to rebuild the bamboo bridge.

Bamboo bridge is one of icons in Baduy village. Baduy’s people always build the bridge by their own hands, with raw materials and tools that are taken from nature; bamboo and ijuk. Simple and smart.

Bamboo Bridge Connects Between Baduy Villages

Bamboo Bridge Connects Between Baduy Villages

One good thing about Baduy is that everyone will join to help and contribute in a ceremony or work. One of example is when they try to rebuild the bamboo bridge. Baduy’s people rebuild bamboo bridge for about every 1 or 1,5 year, depends on the condition of the bamboo. Me and my friends are very lucky that undeliberately came to Baduy on the day they were rebuilding the bridge.

At 8 in the morning there were some man sitting nearby the bridge. They had started earlier preparing “ijuk” as rope to tie between bamboos. Ijuk was cleaned by removing the branch. I tried to do that, which I first thought the easiest work to do beside another work. I’d like to be one of them.😀 But unfortunately it didn’t last too long. Ijuk is so dusty. Well… It’s a man work anyway, I’ve had just realized that. Hehehe… So I gave it back to a boy who was also cleaning ijuk. The cleaned ijuk is then processed again by twisting it strongly. It usually needs 2 people to do that, one man pulling ijuk and the other one twisting ijuk and rolling it up in two pieces of sticks. Then it is ready to be used as a rope to tie between bamboos.

Climb Tree to Construct Bamboo Bridge

Climb Tree to Construct Bamboo Bridge

Meanwhile I could see that some man was working to deconstruct the existing bridge. They had to climb trees to do that. A quiet dangerous task to do as not everyone in the village can do that.

They said whole process will be finished at 3 pm. Whooaaa… that’s quick for building a bridge. Yeah, no wonder, I saw whole village was helping.

Preparing Rope Made from "Ijuk"

Preparing Rope Made from “Ijuk”

Too bad, I couldn’t watch entire processes. I had to go back to Jakarta. I leaved at 10 am from Gajeboh village. I could hear sounds of people pounding rice over and over distinctly all the way to Ciboleger village. They were not actually pounding rice; they were making sound of music to celebrate the coming married ceremony.

Thank you Baduy. It’s quite mind relaxing trip.